‘For Italy, I am worth 9 points out of 30.’

Posted: 07/04/2014 in News & Analysis
Tags: , ,

Obviously, machine translation doesn’t do justice to the revelation that, ‘for Italy, [Alessandro d’Amore (@Alex_OLove) is] worth 9 points out of 30 [per l’Italia valgo 9 punti su 30]’, less than half the minimum points that are needed to be eligible for shortlisting, for a job for which he is overqualified.

(I’ve tidied up the extracts here.)

‘But after this [failed application for a fixed-term contract as a technical assistant], I do not think that I will be able to do anything else anymore, to bear other attempts… or perhaps, I should say, humiliations. [Ma dopo questa, non penso di essere più in grado di fare altro, di sostenere altri tentativi… o forse dovrei dire, umiliazioni.]’

I confess that I have been and continue to be personally and professionally emptied.

I think that there was no more cynically precise and timely way to deprive me of dignity….

I will stop seeking, trying, struggling. And, probably, I will do it again, the suitcase and me, I will accustom myself to using another language to express myself, I will accustom myself to a different climate and a different type of food. It doesn’t matter to me. Nothing matters to me anymore. The important thing is to stay away, because I do not want anymore to tread upon the soil of a nation that takes away my dignity.

[Confesso che sono stato e continuo ad essere umanamente e professionalmente svuotato.

Penso che non ci fosse modo più cinicamente preciso e puntuale per privarmi della dignità….

Io smetterò di cercare, di provare, di lottare. E probabilmente farò di nuovo la valigia e mi abituerò ad utilizzare un’altra lingua per esprimermi, mi abituerò ad un altro clima e ad un altro tipo di cibo. Non mi importa. Nulla più m’importa. L’importante è starti lontano, perché non voglio più calpestare il suolo di una nazione che mi toglie la dignità.]

Leave a Reply

